Author Topic: Radiation vs. surgery?  (Read 2553 times)

JoyDiane

• 1.3cm, R. side, 53 yrs. old, CK, 9/30/09,Stanford
Radiation vs. surgery?
« on: August 19, 2009, 09:58:37 am »
Hi,
This is my first time on this site.  I am 53 yrs. old and have a 1.3 cm. AN, recently diagnosed.  I have fairly good hearing in AN ear and no balance or facial issues (yet).  Went to Stanford Medical Center in CA., about 1 hr. from my home.  Saw very nice neurosurgeon at Dept. of head and neck surgery.  He recommends retro-sigmoid approach.  Lots of possible complications, 5days in hospital, possibility of 1-3 months off work, etc.  Yesterday I had consult w/head of radio-oncology dept. who recommend radiosurgery, specifically Cyber Knife.  (This was developed at Stanford and she has been working with it for 10 years.)  I would like to believe that Cyberknife would take care of my AN (stop it's growth) as opposed to having surgery.  My concerns are: not enough long-term studies, although there are some for Gamma Knife which is similar technology; loss of hearing after radiation; AN could keep growing or grow back making surgery risky after radiation; irradiation of other cells causing malignancy; etc.  Does anyone know anything about the success rates and risks to these two different approaches (surgery vs. Cyber Knife)?

Any studies you can recommend?  Each physician seems to have their own bias and I'm having trouble doing what is best for myself in the short AND long term.

Thanks for your help and thanks for being there!
-JoyDiane

Syl

• Forgive me. I'm having an AN moment.
Re: Radiation vs. surgery?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2009, 10:54:23 am »
JoyDiane:

Welcome! Pretty soon there will be others checking in with advise and recommendations or to just say hello. I can't give you any statistics on success rates of surgery vs CK. However, there are folks in the forum who have had CK or GK and are very happy with their decision.