Author Topic: Cranial Nerve Exam  (Read 1792 times)

petgroomer

• Love to live... Live to love...
    • Vagal Schwannoma
Cranial Nerve Exam
« on: April 02, 2010, 08:15:36 am »
I am posting this because I was diagnosed one year ago this weekend,.. "Happy Anniversay" to my schwammy. 
But more importantly, I went 11 months until I found a doctor who actually took interest in my case.  I was sent home from Toronto hospital only to wait it out and come back in 3 years for an MRI.  No cranial exam or anything was ever done on me until just last month when I insisted I see a neuro-surgeon. 
Amazing to me, he tested stuff and asked questions that I had not heard before.  Anyway, the cranial nerve exam is important to have done from the start to track your progress or issues.  I found a cool site on youtube with one.  IF you have not had one of these... you should (of course I am not a doctor).   
I would suggest knowing your body and what these nerves do, that way you will know if somethings up...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a0vtkXMr7qQ&feature=related
JULY 2009 found 5.6 cm X 4 cm vagal schwan on the 10th cranial nerve and by MAY 2010 it grew to 7.1 cm X 4 cm X 4.1 cm  Nov 2010 it has grown another 10%... time for C.K.! :)
I love life but I'm finding it harder to do .. one millimetre at a time.
www.vagalschwannoma.com 
www.allinonepetcare.co

mk

Re: Cranial Nerve Exam
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2010, 08:34:21 pm »
Interesting, thanks for posting this. It gives good insight on the cranial nerve functions.

Also I found it noteworthy that if someone had performed this test on me three years ago (when my AN must have already been good sized), I would have passed this test with flying colours, since I hadn't experienced any of the symptoms described. So this test would essentially have failed to detect that anything was wrong.

Marianna