Author Topic: So here is the MRI pic, if this works  (Read 6152 times)

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: So here is the MRI pic, if this works
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2010, 02:46:53 pm »
Danielle ~

Whew!  I'm glad for your sake that the waiting is over.  I didn't realize that you had already been diagnosed with an acoutic neuroma and that this MRI was performed in order to define the size and location.  Still, at least you have the information you need.  As I've stated previously, I'm not a doctor but I have to question your doctor's comments about radiation being 'inflammatory'.  Radiation treatments usually do cause tumor swelling, which I suspect is what the doctor meant, but surgery is only performed if the radiation fails to arrest the tumor's growth, which is a small risk, at best, and the surgery wouldn't normally be attempted on a tumor that was swollen.  Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary (associated with Harvard Medical School) is a fine facility that other AN patients posting here have used. Their Dr. McKenna is very popular with some of our Massachusetts-based posters.  Here is link to the Mass Eye &Ear Infirmary website: http://www.masseyeandear.org/.   I hope your AN 'journey' will be a realtively smooth one from this point, on.  Please keep us updated.  Thanks.

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

inmaine724

« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2010, 07:30:59 pm »
Thanks Jim.  I'm confused about the radiation thing as well.  I'm sure I'll know better once I go to Boston.  I'm very surprised I'm not "watch and wait".  It's so small...it doesn't make sense to me.

Thank you!
...Danielle