Author Topic: When to go back to work?  (Read 3178 times)

suz

When to go back to work?
« on: August 25, 2010, 09:11:24 am »
Hello folks,
I am scheduled to go back to work in 2 weeks and I think I am ready but wondering what criteria others have used to decide when they are ready.
I am a nurse, but work in an outpatient setting and am the only person in my department.  The days are long and busy, and many days I get only a 15 minute break.....and once I decide to go back, it will be hard to reverse that decision.
It has been 6 weeks since my surgery - so this seems reasonble, yes? I know my docs will say that if I feel ready I can go - but am afraid since I can't change the plan once in place... Would love to hear others thoughts.
Suz
Tumor 1.8cms x 1.5 cms x .5 cm;partially removed 7/14/10 by Drs. Friedman & Schwartz of House Ear Clinic in LA. Moderate SS hearing loss.
Re-growth approximate 3 mm per year; GK planned for 12/2017.
Philadelphia, PA area

Cheryl R

Re: When to go back to work?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 10:07:15 am »
Suz,    I went back to work as a nurse in 2 mos.    Did this twice due to my NF2 and more than one tumor and then surgery.     The last surgery had retired and have stayed retired.        The having to do so much mental work along with so much running up and down a hall made me glad I had waited as long as I did.   I still was tired easily for some time.         We each feel different and you know how much you can handle.      If not sure then maybe do need a bit more time off.                Good luck with how it goes!                       Cheryl R
Right mid fossa 11-01-01
  left tumor found 5-03,so have NF2
  trans lab for right facial nerve tumor
  with nerve graft 3-23-06
   CSF leak revision surgery 4-07-06
   left mid fossa 4-17-08
   near deaf on left before surgery
   with hearing much improved .
    Univ of Iowa for all care

Lizard

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 10:12:57 am »
Suz,