Author Topic: Newbie to the site, oldie to AN  (Read 2285 times)

nickel

• If God brings you to it~He'll bring you through it
Newbie to the site, oldie to AN
« on: May 22, 2006, 11:41:19 am »
Hi all-

I am a newbie to the site and so glad I found you all!!!!  I have NF 1 & 2 therefore I have bilateral AN, Translab surgery in February '93 on left side, Gamma Knife on both left/right summer/fall '93.  GM worked it's part on both left/right, MRI's showed no growth, left actual started to resection itself.  Hearing couldn't be preserved and total Deafness by Jan '94 after that no symptoms and good quality of life for 13 years!!!  Shoot forward to present day, Feb '05 left eye started with what seemed to be infection, severe dry eye, lagophthalmos.  Neurosurgeon (which I have been under care of for the last 14 years, and MRI's annual) couldn't see any significant regrowth and ruled possible scar tissue interference, refered to Neuro-Opthomaligist had Gold Weight implant Dec '06.  In the meantime left side of face started to become less and less "active" and as of today have partial facial paralysis.  I am beside myself, my smile has always been a part of me and have always been told I have a great outlook and cheery disposition on life however lately that has gotten really hard to maintain.  My Neuro-Doc is retiring so I feel like I am losing a person in the family and have to go see another on the 1st of June who will probably rule for surgery again.  My hearing loss was something I accepted as part of who I am and will be but losing my smile has been the hardest thing and just hope that it is fixable.  Anyone have total facial paralysis on one or both sides, have surgery and part or all nerve activity return??????????????  I hope I can look forward to something??????

Nickel
Bilateral AN left 4.0+ cm/right 3.5+ cm, left-partial TRANSLAB w/GN '93, right-GN '93.  Today, regrowth of both, scheduled left TRANSLAB w/facial nerve graph in July '06.

nickel