Author Topic: Careers  (Read 5025 times)

nolant

Careers
« on: July 26, 2005, 07:06:05 am »
Crewbies,

I am new to the Crew.  I have been quietly following along the last couple weeks.   I was wondering if I could get some thoughts on a topic that I am facing.  This disorder has brought me to a cross road with my career.  I am a manager for one of those big box retail stores (not Walmart, but close).  I have already elected to take a step down in my responsiblity.  It is still a huge struggle.  I feel I face two choices:  keep steppeing down or disability.  Is there anyone out there that has experience with this scenerio?

Tom

PS  I live in Columbus, Ohio.  I would like to attend the weekend gateaway, and meet the Crew.

heyyouconnie

Re: Careers
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2005, 05:01:04 pm »
I can say disability is hard to get, and isn't enough to support anyone. It is more like a supplement. I finally got my disability after 1 1/2 years of trying. I only get $625 a month from it, and I can only make $800 a month with a part time job.

I would suggest you take a leave of absence from your job. Get your surgery and see how you feel. I know a nurse who did that and has returned to her job full time in less than one year. Maybe you could get some supplement of income from the unemployment board because of your surgery.???????????

Good Luck!

russ

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2005, 08:05:02 pm »
Hi Tom
  I wouldn't seek a disability if you have another good ear.
  Yes, a leave of absence or change in responsibility for a time seems prudent. Even if you do make less money.
  I'm on SSD with NF-2 and receive $870 plus many other assistive perks so do ok though I'd rather work if not just for the social contacts and some sense of personal integrity from work itself. I did manage to gain my Masters after leaving work, however. But, that was a real struggle!!
  Hang in there!
  Russ

bjordanr

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2005, 11:38:09 am »