Author Topic: The wait is finally over! My BAHA is on!  (Read 3009 times)

hannalou

The wait is finally over! My BAHA is on!
« on: March 22, 2011, 04:09:34 pm »
I got my BAHA fitted and adjusted yesterday and I am loving it! :D The 3 month wait after surgery is finally over.  I am a substitute teacher and can't wait to get in the classroom and hear the difference...

I do have a few questions for fellow BAHA wearers out there - I know there are several setting that can be programed into the device, however my audiologist only programed one for me.  She stated that because I have SSD I would only need to use one setting.  Is that correct?  I am just thinking that there are different environments that I am in where I might need a different setting to be programed.  She said could do it but doubted I would need that.  Just want to make sure that now that I have the technology that I use it to its fullest potential.

Also I am wondering about the additional things you can get for it - like the MP3 attachment,  do they help and how do they work?  Currently, when I use my IPOD I just wear one earbud in my hearing ear and leave the other one dangling around my neck.  And just figured I wouldn't wear my BAHA or would shut it off when I use my IPOD. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Hannalou

Hannalou:)

jaylogs

• Administrator
  • It's NOT a too-mah! (Anymore!)
Re: The wait is finally over! My BAHA is on!
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 05:08:40 pm »
Congrats Hannalou!!!  I am sure you'll be loving every minute of the hearing world again!  Which BAHA did you get?  Let us know how the classroom works, as my wife is a teacher and she knows another teacher at her school that is SSD from an AN, she's kind of considering going with a BAHA eventually...
Jay