Author Topic: Facial Nerve  (Read 3854 times)

darnett

Facial Nerve
« on: April 30, 2011, 01:10:18 pm »
i had an AN removed in January 2011....surgery lasted 10 hrs. I have recovered well, got my balance back, no headaches, etc. But my face is droopy, I cannot speak very well, my eye wont blink. My eye at the present is sewn shut(the third time) so i am basically one eyed...I have yet to return to work, I do alot of driving and physical work, have lost my insurance(now on COBRA) and lost most my ability to play piano(im a part time musician)....all of this is manageable except when I look in the mirror I see someone completely different. The last thing I want is facial reconstruction or a Baha for the hearing loss, I want to stay as far away from a hospital as possible! I realize everyone is different and recovery varies, my surgeon says it will come back it just takes time...my therapists are great but not miracle workers. I realize also I could be much worse off,but it feels good to vent! I hope to read stories of success on here. Any feedback is much appreciated...
7cm AN removed January 2,2011....  No hearing, facial paralysis, eye problems all on right side

Jeanlea

Re: Facial Nerve
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2011, 02:55:07 pm »
Darnett,
You are in the very early days of recovery from an AN. Do you know if your facial nerve was intact at the end of surgery? I had my AN removed in Sept of 2005 through the translab procedure which took about 13 hours. Right after surgery my face drooped quite a bit. Now after 5 1/2 years it is not really noticeable by most people. My biggest changes came around 18 months to two years. My speaking improved quicker than that. The more I spoke the sooner it improved was my experience. My eye still does not blink normally, but it does close on its own. My current routine is to put in Refresh PM once every morning now. That way I don't need to worry about it all day.