Author Topic: Day 3 CK Treatment  (Read 2576 times)

Richard_T

Day 3 CK Treatment
« on: January 20, 2012, 12:37:20 am »
This installment is about day 2 of the actual CK treatment. 

Today, I met With my nurses, was greeted by the neurosurgeon that supervised my CT scan on day 1 and was led to the CK2 room and table, had my iPhone plugged in the dock, was led to the table, fitted to the mask, fastened down and was set to go.  I was treated as if I was now an expert at the process and, though I am not an expert, I was already sufficiently indoctrinated to know what to expect and had my own plan:  minimize swallowing and do so when the machine was repositioning only and do not try to minimize body movements from breathing, which would likely result in the sensation of taking deep breaths.  Of course, we all know about the best laid plans.  The breathing has worked for me, but I was compelled to swallow a couple of times while the machine was likely firing (I noticed that it appeared to immediately abandon its action by moving on at each such occasion, but it could be coincidental). At a few other times on this day, I swallowed when the CK was moving and I thought it had longer travel, but was wrong.  So, I was still in the process while the machine, presumably, began firing.  Nevertheless, things appeared to go well.

After the process, I was met again by Dr. Gibbs at the recliner outside the CK room.  We discussed my headache the night before, which was confirmed as normal by Gibbs and that Tylenol or similar headache relievers were ok, if I ever wanted to do so.  We also briefly discussed my plans to fly home the following morning after the third CK treatment and the need for no lifestyle changes.