Author Topic: Sports After Surgery  (Read 4944 times)

Bman

Sports After Surgery
« on: May 29, 2013, 02:41:59 pm »
Hi everyone I'm a newbie here.

40 Years old wanted to know if anyone was able to return back to sports.  I play hockey non contact, but there still is contact and falling down.  I hear things about balance which might be the main issue.  Just hoping someone can give me some insight.

Thank you

james e

• 72 years, 1.7cm, trans lab Mar 2010, BAHA 5
Re: Sports After Surgery
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2013, 09:09:14 am »
I am 24 years older than you, but I was always invested in sports...I played in an adult baseball league, softball league, basketball league. I was a runner, swimmer, weight lifter. As a result of foot problems from running, I stopped everything except weight lifting. I lifted an hour yesterday, and I will be back at it today.

Every AN case recovery is different. My surgery was three years ago, and I am still wonky 24/7. Any rapid eye movement sends me into vertigo. If my feet were still capable of running, my surgery would prevent it. Bouncing up and down would really cause me to get vertigo.  Basketball, baseball, softball, all cause rapid eye movement and it stops me dead in my tracks.

Weight lifting does not cause me any problems. I use about 30 different lifts that do not require me to move my head very much. I watch myself in a mirror and that helps keep my balance.

The nurses during my surgery waged a bet on my age and missed it by about 20 years. My excellent condition helped in my recovery. My physical therapist said my physical strength is what keeps me vertical...when I start to fall, my conditioning is all I have.