Author Topic: Dr. Spetzler, Barrow Neurological in Phoenix  (Read 4711 times)

Rhonda

Dr. Spetzler, Barrow Neurological in Phoenix
« on: July 14, 2005, 01:55:59 pm »
Hello.  I'm new to the message board and would like to know about anyone's experience with Dr. Spetzler in Phoenix.  I have a 3.4 AN.  I met with Dr. Porter at Barrow's this week.  He seems like a great dr. however, not enough AN surgeries for my comfort level.  They are working on getting me a consult with Spetzler a.s.a.p.  But I'd like to know of actual patients to hear from them.  At the same time I am researching and speaking to Dr.s at House Ear Institute in L.A.  It's getting down to the wire.  I need to have this surgery soon (1-2 weeks max).  Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Rhonda :)

dpericoni

Re: Dr. Spetzler, Barrow Neurological in Phoenix
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2005, 06:22:49 pm »
I am from Tempe. I met with Dr. Despit at Barrows. The following week I went to speak to Dr. Brackmann at House. After talking to both very knowledgable neurologists, I choose House for surgery. They do the most AN's in the country and have a whole floor devoted to AN patients. I have a small tumor 5mm by 8mm and could have chosen radiation but, I decided after visiting House and being with doctors who are experts in surgery that that was the way to go. I will be having surgery in October. I would say that you need to make a call to House and set up an appt. I think they are the best at what they do. Good luck.

Jeff

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2005, 12:00:05 pm »
Hello Rhonda,