Author Topic: Another Schwannoma Newbie here, located in Boston, MA  (Read 4614 times)

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
Another Schwannoma Newbie here, located in Boston, MA
« on: August 24, 2005, 12:38:14 pm »
Hi all... in speaking with Marie at ANA, she mentioned the site and I thought I'd say hi...

Was diagnosed with initial MRI in May, 2005 with Schwannoma.  Had repeat MRI last week and confirmed. Also dealing with Chiari I Malformation, so as you can see, I got my hands full.

44 yrs old, size of Schwannoma is 5mm x 8mm left IAC with IAC enlargement.  Have facial numbness and minimal hearing loss occuring, as well as headaches.  Balance issue is debatable as it could be the schwannoma or the Chiari I Malformation (lucky me!)  .... I've lucked out and obtained a great neurosurgical team here in Boston at Brigham & Women's Hospital and will meet with them this Friday to discuss options. 

I have read some of the posts here, including the questions to ask (pre-op) and I can see you all are terrific in providing support.  I am very lucky to have stumbled (sorry for the pun) onto you all and look forward to chatting with you to learn more about what I am dealing with and up against.

God bless to you all and be well.
Phyl
"Gentlemen, I wash my hands of this weirdness", Capt Jack Sparrow - Davy Jones Locker, "Pirates of the Carribbean - At World's End"

barbjo

Re: Another Schwannoma Newbie here, located in Boston, MA
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2005, 01:10:17 pm »
Hi  :D!

Wow...you do have you hands full.  I just "trip" on his site myself, seems to be alot of support and information here.  I definately want to know of your journey and definately want to throw my support and wishes your way!  !

ppearl214

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2005, 01:19:25 pm »
Hi  :D!