Author Topic: My story  (Read 2150 times)

LBM

My story
« on: October 16, 2005, 07:09:45 pm »
I am a 30 year old female living outside of NYC. I am in my third year of residency in psychiatry. I am having a really hard time dealing with everything that has happened to me and just wanted to share it with others who can understand what I have been through because I don't feel as if anyone does. I had terrible right sided headaches for years that continued to worsen in intensity and frequency. I had been seeing a neurologist at my hospital for over two years and asked him for an MRI. He said I didn't need one and that I had stress/migraine headaches. He had me on at least three different migraine prophylaxis that did not work. My headaches were getting worse and I went to seek a different opionion. The first thing the doctor asked me was when was my last MRI. I told her I never had one and she ordered one for March 28th 2005. I had my scan and the next day I was called that I needed to come in that day. As a doctor myself I knew instantly something bad showed up on my scan. I have never been so frightened in my entire life. I saw my whole life flash before my eyes. When I went to meet with the doctor she told me I had a tumor but it was benign. As soon as I heard benign I took a big gulp of air and said, I can handle this. I didn't care, as long as it wasn't brain cancer. I had a dear friend of mine die two years ago from a malignanent brain tumor. My tumor was 3 cm and I had no symptoms other than headaches. I had surgery in NYC a month later. I went through so much more than I ever could have anticipated. My surgeons told me I would probably be in the hospital about five days. I was there 22 due to such severe pain. The pain I felt in my head is inconceivable and inhumane. I had spent so much time in bed I had to learn to walk again and when I did I threw up. I came home from the hospital and continue to this day to have pain in my head. It has gotten so much better