Author Topic: New user "yenna" Inquiry to the AN gang  (Read 3077 times)

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
New user "yenna" Inquiry to the AN gang
« on: November 25, 2007, 09:23:46 am »
Hi all, didn't want this buried in another thread as yenna is reaching out for answers..... Phyl

Hi, I'm a total newbie to forums and hope I am doing this right...First of all I am "So Happy" to find this group! I have a 2.5cm left AN, diagnosed 8/07. My past history is I have had bouts w/ migranes, clutzyness since my 20's. I am 45. My first head CT was in my 20's...no tumor but I did have a allergic recation to the dye used. I have had intermittent bouts w/ vertigo (but mainly while Jet Skiing or Snow skiing/ Snow skiing is not an option any longer is was so bad).

Aprox. 1 yr+ b/4 the AN was found, I was in for a routine eye exam and my optic nerves were swollen. I was sent to an opthomologist/neuro. who ordered a CT w/out contrast...no tumor was found and I was diagonosed w/ "Psuedo Tumor Cerebri" (false tumor). I went through a spinal tap, diuretics & multiple field vision tests, was told to loose wieght!

Then in July I thought I had a wax blockage and tried the warm water ear syringe a few different times w/ no luck the after a couple weeks the ringing started which made me call my GP. She said the ear was clear & sent me to an Audiologist who found hearing loss on that side and sent me to an ENT. The ENT ordered the MRI w/ contrast and the AN was found. The tumor was not psuedo! If I had had the CT w/ contrast or the MRI a year+ earlier I would still have hearing & no tinetus (my balance I have been told is totally gone on that side).