Author Topic: Hey guys....  (Read 2530 times)

JRD

Hey guys....
« on: November 07, 2005, 06:20:07 am »
I am a newbie here so I hope you guys take it easy on me^^

I was just diagnosed with AN last week and its been kind of hard.  I'm not sure of the size of my tumor but its located on facial nerve.  I didn't experience any hearing loss, dizziness, or headaches but my facial movements (the left side of face) have been slowly gettin worse.  I noticed that my left eye closed slower than my right...things like that.  Well needless to say I went to the doctor and he told me I have a tumor and I was like "Whoa!"

Its been hard.  I know I dont have two many options, radiation or surgery.  I've been told the advantages and disadvantages of both procedures.   Since I am pretty young (22) I am leaning towards surgery rather than radiation.  I'm kind of scared though because I've heard the stories about facial paralysis and loss of hearing, etc. 

Now obviously the goal is to avoid both loss of hearing and facial paralysis.  So I have been looking into my options.  I'm just curious if anyone out there has had these same symptoms and what they did to successfully treat this condition. 

I am also looking into the instiutions that may best be suited to help me.  From what I heard from the doctor who diagnosed me, he said that if im looking into radiation then Univ. of Pittsburgh would probably be best.  If I want to go to the surgery route, he recommended to me a local neuro-surgen at U-Penn.  But he also mentioned to me that theres a famous institution (I belived its called the House Clinic?) located in Los Angeles that specializes in treating such condtions.  If you guys have any success stories or have any opnions on any recommended insitituions (whether it be radiologist/surgery) please feel free to share them with me.