Author Topic: post gamma knife  (Read 2953 times)

madison

post gamma knife
« on: April 13, 2009, 03:47:37 pm »
hello. i am new to this discussion forum, but am glad to know there are others out there dealing with the same kinds of issues.
i had gamma knife done last february for a right acoustic neuroma. i had a 6 month followup which showed the tumor is dying. i go this week for my one year folow-up and i am really nervous. the fullness feeling in my ear has decreased significantly, but sometimes comes back intermittently. i also have a dizzy or "not right" feeling once in a while. i still have ringing in my ear which i know will probably always be there- but also a rice krispies sound and sometimes a heartbeat or popcorn popping feeling. is there anyone out there who has had gamma knife with good outcome, but still experiences any of these symptoms. i am curious to know what others have experienced. thank you so much..i look forward to hearing from you and i will keep you posted on the mri results :)
Pennsylvania:female: 40 yrs. old
R ACOUSTIC NEUROMA;GAMMA KNIFE FEB. 2008
multiple meningiomas
scheduled for translab @ Thomas Jefferson in Phila. Pa. on 6/18/2012

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: post gamma knife
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 04:20:15 pm »
Hi, Madison - and welcome to our little corner of the vast internet galaxy.  :)

I'm pleased that you decided to post a message.  Unfortunately, I didn't undergo GK so I cannot offer a credible answer to your questions, but I'm sure others will be along to do so, and offer their own welcome, soon.  I can offer you my wishes and prayers for a 'clean' MRI report this week.  Let us know the results.  Thanks.  :)

Jim

4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.