Author Topic: Is it too late to try accupuncture?  (Read 4147 times)

CROOKEDSMILE

Is it too late to try accupuncture?
« on: May 28, 2009, 07:40:03 am »
I am almost 2 years post surgery. Facial paralysis with decent recovery. Is there a time limit on when acupuncture can be effective? I was wondering if any of you have asked your acupuncturist this or if there is any scientific theory on this. I would like to try it but if I am way past the point of it helping then I don't want to throw money down the drain as it isn't covered by insurance. I doubt that alot of research has been done since acupuncture isn't a widely accepted form of treatment but if any of you have any information I sure would appreciate it.
Angie

saralynn143

• Sarey Sarey Quite Contrary
    • MVD diary
Re: Is it too late to try accupuncture?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2009, 08:01:34 am »
Hey Angie, I have no experience but I do have an opinion. (Imagine that!) There are so many instances of recovery past the two year mark that I think there is no reason not to try it if you feel it might be helpful. Until we are back close to normal or there has been a really long period with no improvement then I believe there is still room for hope.

Sara
MVD for hemifacial spasm 6/2/08
left side facial paresis
 12/100 facial function - 7/29/08
 46 - 11/25/08
 53 - 05/12/09
left side SSD approx. 4 weeks
 low-frequency hearing loss; 85% speech recognition 7/28/08
1.8 gram thin profile platinum eyelid weight 8/12/08
Fitted for scleral lens 5/9/13

moe

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2009, 09:41:04 am »
Hi Angie,
I too have been wondering if acupunture would help me. I'm going for my 18 month 12/7 transposition surgery in July, and will ask my doctor. I have had partial results with the surgery.  3 year surgery anniversary this June.
John posted some results of his acupuncture treatment, and he was 2 years post op; has seen results.
Here is the link for the post. It is interesting reading