Author Topic: New to ANA  (Read 4254 times)

sealsu

New to ANA
« on: November 08, 2009, 09:49:35 pm »
Hey!  Wow, I've never posted anything in my life on the internet but now I'm realizing I'm not technically savvy what so ever since it took me about 10 minutes to figure out how to post something on this site.  And I work for a technology company.   :(I got diagnosed a little over a week ago.  I went to my ENT to meet with her and didn't realize it was bad till I googled Acoustic Neuroma the next morning when I got to work. My boyfriend and I were meeting friends right after my appointment to go to the Sounders game so I didn't even have time to think about it till I got to work at 7am the next morning.  It totally freaked me out when I read what it was and all the options.    My tumor is really small but I'm so young and fortunate my ear reacted the way it did because I've heard some really bad stories.  I guess my big question is what are some of the things that have happened after surgery for everyone.  I'm a runner and haven't been able to run over a mile in the last week because of dizziness but does the dizziness go away after a couple months post surgery?  I've read the facial paralysis usually comes back but that scares me a little too.  What is the probability of the nerve being damaged?  When my boyfriend and I went to meet with the neurotolgy Dr my ENT referred me to it was hard to get probabilities from her.  It scared me because she wouldn't give us even how many surgeries she did in a year. She said sometimes a couple a month.    From what we've both read I need to find the best Dr to perform the surgery so not hearing probabilities really scared both of us.  I have an appointment with Dr.  Backous at Virginia Mason to see what he says but now my dad and my brothers are talking about the House Clinic and some clinics closer to where I'm from Louisiana.   I've got a wedding in April for my best friend and I really don't want to have trouble walking as