Author Topic: Surgery Scheduled  (Read 1904 times)

Joanne7151

Surgery Scheduled
« on: January 11, 2010, 11:58:16 pm »
I'm a newbie!  My AN was diagnosed in July 2009. My symptoms began in the spring, balance issues, headaches, hearing loss. MRI showed AN measured 0.4 x 0.5 x 1.1cm within the right auditory canal. August 6th I had the Gamma Knife procedure. First 2 weeks after surgery, I lost balance, and felt like there was a mini construction company in my right ear. Felt pretty much okay thru most of September. In October symptoms began again and got worse. Oct. 14 MRI showed some growth, but they weren't sure if it was swelling or growth. December 1 MRI showed significant growth. I am now scheduled for surgery January 20 at NYU medical center. The surgery will be Posterior Fossa Craniotomy (Translab), resection of intradural tumor with abdominal fat graft & facial nerve monitoring/microdisecction.

Needless to say I am TERRIFIED. Just the thought of my head being opened is freaking me out. Can anyone tell me what I may experience right after surgery. I know everyone reacts differently. Is it nausea, vomiting, pain, total loss of equilibrium, etc. I appreciate any input you can give me.
Joanne

sgerrard

Re: Surgery Scheduled
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2010, 01:02:53 am »
Can anyone tell me what I may experience right after surgery.

The saying on the forum is that the first three days don't count.  ;) The more direct answer to your list of possibilities is: yes.  :P

I have to add, that was a pretty quick decision that the radiation didn't stop the growth. Sometimes they go a little while and swell up before they slow down and stop.

Mainly, though, I wanted to say Hi, Newbie! And welcome to the forum.

Steve
8 mm left AN June 2007,  CK at Stanford Sept 2007.
Hearing lasted a while, but left side is deaf now.
Right side is weak too. Life is quiet.

neuroma_racer

• late apexing
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 01:31:32 am »
hello,