Author Topic: Could I get hearing back??  (Read 2295 times)

mnastasi

Could I get hearing back??
« on: February 08, 2010, 02:24:57 pm »
I am almost 3 weeks post op with SSD..I am still hopeful that some of my hearing will come back...I am wondering what all of your experiences are for those of you who did get some hearing back- how long should I give it??

thanks !
merle  :)

Lou T

Re: Could I get hearing back??
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 02:52:21 pm »
      Hey   My surgey was on 11/11/09  a/n  they were hoping to preserve my hearing but the nerve was to damaged. When I went back for my first DR. appointment I asked about my hearing.   DR said its not going to come back.  But every case is different.  GOOD LUCK                     

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 05:10:06 pm »
Hi, Merle - and welcome.  You post a very common question.

I can't give you a definitive answer (I'm not a doctor and even if I were, I don't know the details of your situation) but, based on experience, I would have to guess that your hearing won't return.  Generally, retention of hearing is obvious immediately after the surgery.  If it hasn't returned in 3 weeks, it isn't likely to do so, now.  However, being SSD is not terribly tragic but if it's a problem for you, BAHA units are available and very effective.  So, no need to despire.

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

Nickittynic

• Bug in the Brain Blog
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2010, 05:56:52 pm »