Author Topic: Newbie and Choclear Implants  (Read 3913 times)

cobbler

Newbie and Choclear Implants
« on: July 19, 2010, 01:32:43 pm »
Hello!

I am newly diagnosed with an AN since May - finally saw Dr. McElveen for North Carolina and waiting on surgery date.  I am thankful to find this group. Everything I have found on the web has been so negative.

Since I have no hearing in my right ear - they briefly mentioned a cochlear implant. Does anyone have experience for these?

Thanks in advance!
Misty
Misty Cobb

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Newbie and Choclear Implants
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2010, 02:11:55 pm »
Hello - and welcome Misty!  (cobbler)

I'm sorry to learn that you've been diagnosed with an acoustic neuroma and have lost all hearing in one ear (me too).  I'm not a doctor so my opinion is basically 'uneducated' but because the hearing nerve is usually damaged by the tumor, I doubt that a cochlear implant would be feasible for you because it depends on the nerve that transmits sound to the brain to be processed.  Unless that nerve is functioning normally, a cochlear implant would not be useful.  However, a BAHA (Bone Anchored Hearing Aid) would be. These are designed specifically for those with unilateral hearing loss (SSD -Single Side Deaf) and those who have them usually are delighted with the result.  Insurance often covers the (high) cost.  Other members will soon be posting more information on BAHA units but I wanted to welcome you and mention this alternative hearing device.  I hope we can be of more help to you as you progress in your AN journey.

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

jerseygirl

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2010, 02:51:20 pm »
Hi, Cobbler,