Author Topic: Gamma Knife  (Read 2904 times)

formula30

Gamma Knife
« on: September 08, 2010, 11:07:21 am »
I have finally gotten my appointments set up, one next monday a consult with the radiologists/oncologists.........and the following week for gamma........now I am getting nervous........my hearing hasn't been so bad on the AN side, even though on my audiogram my word discrimination is pretty bad, I have even been able to answer the phone using that ear.....now it scares me, that I will lose the hearing in that ear........is gamma better for that then fsr???  From what I have read with fsr I would eventually lose the hearing also.......I will ask the doctors........but was wondering what everyone else thinks???  Just trying to get all my questions ready for my appointment.

richcooks

Re: Gamma Knife
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2010, 09:15:01 am »
Of course I am a novice but I discovered my AN 6 years ago when it was a baby 1mm.

I have been researching because I had three doctors tell me I needed treatment. 
1.  The gamma knife doctor who also does many AN, UPENN in Philly, told me that there is a 60% chance that you will not loose your hearing. I asked him why gamma knife in lieu of FSR and he said, :"That's what we have here." 
2.  The FSR Doctor told me that there is very little chance that he would damage "good" tissue when zapping the tumor.  This is because of the lower doses used than with Gamma knife. 

From what I have been reading you have a better chance of retaining your current hearing levels with FSR.  There are no guarantees.  I am choosing FSR.  My dilemma is that the radiation oncologist that does FSR near me has little experience with AN but lots of experience zapping tumors.