Author Topic: New to Forum  (Read 2773 times)

Chris P

New to Forum
« on: February 12, 2011, 10:47:58 am »
Hi ,
    I am a new member of ANA and this is my first time on the forum.  I had gamma knife radiation surgery on a tumor that surrounds nerve 7 and 8 of my right inner ear , last June, 2010.  After the surgery I felt great, my dizziness was gone and I was starting to feel like myself again.  Four months later in Oct. 2010 I experienced facial weakness and a few weeks later hearing loss.  Now 4 months later I still have my facial weakness and a lot of hearing loss in my right ear with balance problems.  I go back to my doctor for a followup MRI this coming June, other than that I have no contact with my doctor.
   I was wondering if anyone has experience what I have.  My doctor told me it would be a slow process for my palsy to go away and the hearing will probably not get better.  I can deal with the hearing loss but I would like to think that my facial weakness will go away and my balance will improve.  I also have a lot of tearing in my right eye which distorts my vision a lot.

I would appreciate any input at this point to give me hope of getting better.  Thank you.

Small AN 14mm , right side , Gamma Knife Radiation 6/22/10 Gainsville, Florida.
Balance issues, hearing loss and facial weakness appeared four months post op.

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: New to Forum
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2011, 03:32:42 pm »
Hi, Chris - welcome to the ANA discussion forums!  Thanks for taking the time to register and post.  :)