Author Topic: Questions - Regrowth  (Read 4384 times)

SamsMomIAm

Questions - Regrowth
« on: March 22, 2006, 09:14:06 am »
Hello! I had surgery in September to remove a 5 centimeter acoustic neuroma. Now, a MRI has revealed that since DECEMBER (when I had a CAT scan), the tumor has regrown to nearly 4 1/2 centimeters! I will have to have surgery again. Has this happened to anyone?

Raydean

Re: Questions - Regrowth
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2006, 12:28:09 pm »
Hi SamsMomIam,

First of all, I'm not a doctor, just of wife of a husband who also had an extra large tumor.  Not being a doctor I'm only guessing that if what is appearing on the CAT Scan is actually tumor then it's almost have to be to be residual tumor, (tumor not removed during the first surgery).  There are other things that could be showing up, such as scar tissue and packing from the first surgery.   It's really important that you have a second opinion to determine what is going on.  If possible collect copies of your films from before and after surgery for comparision. 

The House Ear Clinic will review films and do a phone consult for free if you send them copies of your films. I can e-mail that website page if needed.

What are your Doctor's telling you regarding remaining tumor and size?

Thinking of you
Raydean

Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

Battyp

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2006, 12:37:45 pm »
My first thought would be did they get the tumor out comletely the first time?  If not then I'd think it was residual.  There are some on here who have had regrowth.  I'd also like Raydean said get a second opinion.

My prayers are with you!
Michelle

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2006, 12:42:43 pm »
Hi SamsMom and welcome.  You are in great company here! :)