Author Topic: Got report from MRI - translation please!  (Read 3114 times)

onelove6366

Got report from MRI - translation please!
« on: July 27, 2011, 08:01:45 am »
Report reads:

There is a 1.8x2.1x1.6 cm right cerebellar pontine angle well circumscribed mass has hyperintense signal on T2-weighted imaging and slightly hypointense to gray matter signal on T1-weighted imaging. There is intense slightly heterogeneous enhancement of the mass with an enhancing component extending into the internal auditory canal.

Does anybody know what that means?

PaulW

Re: Got report from MRI - translation please!
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 08:54:17 am »
Please note I am not a doctor so any information given here is in good faith only.
Always seek professional advise

Cerebellar Pontine Angle...
The area of the skull where AN's Hang out

well circumscribed mass
Lump

has hyperintense signal
Shows up as Bright Spot

on T2-weighted imaging
T2 Weighted imaging is the type of MRI that best shows up AN's as Bright Spots

slightly hypointense to gray matter signal
Something that looks a little darker

on T1-weighted imaging
T1 Weighted imaging is the type of MRI that best shows up AN's as darker spots

T1 and T2 has to do with different timing of the magnetic resonance signal that the MRI machine detects

There is intense slightly heterogeneous enhancement of the mass with an enhancing component extending into the internal auditory canal.
The bright lump goes into the Internal Auditory Canal

The Internal Auditory Canal is a little naturally occuring hole between the outside of the skull and the inside of the skull
Your facial nerve, balance/hearing nerve, and blood supply to the cochlear run through this canal.
It is also where Acoustic Neuromas normally start growing.

10x5x5mm AN
Sudden Partial hearing loss 5/28/10
Diagnosed 7/4/10
CK 7/27/10
2/21/11 Swelling 13x6x7mm
10/16/11 Hearing returned, balance improved. Feel totally back to normal most days