Author Topic: New to this whole thing!  (Read 3827 times)

MaryCPereira

New to this whole thing!
« on: April 14, 2012, 02:24:50 pm »
Hey guys,
I'm new to this, so I thought I'd share my story. I am 27 years old. I have always had migraines, and for the past 6 or 7 months I have had a headache every single day. Not always migraine level, but always there. Anyway, I started going to a neurologist, who said it was nothing and put me on antidepressants to try to get rid of the headache. It didn't work. She doubled the dose. It still didn't work. About a month after she had upped the dose, I had a terrible migraine. That was on Feb 6th. I took a migraine pill and instantly went to sleep. Nothing unusual. Well, I woke up on Feb 7th with a full like, swooshing sound in my right ear with decreased hearing. I called after hours for my PCP, and they told me to head to the ER.
The ER doc was amazing. She was the first person to ever take my headaches and symptoms seriously, and she did a CT scan. Negative. But, she wouldn't let me leave without calling my neurologist (at 2am), and left me instructions to go to an ENT, and meet up with the neuro again. The next morning I called my neurologist. They yelled at me for not taking the meds as prescribed, and told me I don't need an MRI, and just to triple the dose of the meds. Crazy. I declined.
The ENT had me go in that day for an emergency hearing test, which showed moderate to severe hearing loss with high frequencies in my right ear. This prompted an emergency dr appt with the ENT, and he said I needed an MRI, but that it was probably viral, and the MRI would just rule out an AN.  That Sunday I had the MRI. They told me it'd be at least 3 days before hearing anything from the doctor. The next morning before 10am the ENT doctor called and said I have an AN and that he is referring me to Mass Eye and Ear.