Author Topic: anyone know of a correlation between head injury and increased symptoms of an  (Read 3531 times)

deborahgordon

I lost my hearing appx 7 yrs ago.  I did not know it was due to AN.  I didn't have balance problems or any other symtoms it is 2.5 cm.  2 yrs ago I received a severe concussion at work and my symtoms went off the charts the head injury affected my eye sight and balance. I have severe nausea from any type of movement.  since I have no insurance and am using the VA( I am a veteran) I am still on the wait and see even though I only get around with a cane when I can get out, and now I am having facial twitches and numbness in the jaw area.  the sharp pain in the ear is unreal.  second opinions aren't allowed in va and the doctor said my outlook is poor so he wants to wait until it grows and becomes too close to the brain stem.  has anyone else had a head injury that made the symptoms worse?
thank you for your time and responses
Character is how you treat those who can do nothing for you.

nftwoed

Hi;

No, not personally, but have read of 2 or 3 who had auto accidents accompanying their ANs. The accidents likely traumatized the temporalmandibuler joint further.
   I think the VA is bordering on the edge of non ethical conduct here by making you wait!
   This could get serious and if my situation, I'd want a civilian Dr. to look at the MRI and take your history. Worry about costs later!
   IMO; VA care has never been the greatest and many, 'flunky' Drs. end up there who otherwise couldn't/didn't make it in the civilian world.

james e

• 72 years, 1.7cm, trans lab Mar 2010, BAHA 5