Author Topic: Not sure if my hearing changes are AN related or not???  (Read 5559 times)

Jenifr36

Not sure if my hearing changes are AN related or not???
« on: February 09, 2015, 05:02:03 pm »
Last summer I noticed a big difference in the hearing in my right ear.  I scheduled a hearing test and the doctor confirmed a significant loss in the right ear, minimal loss in the left.  We talked at that time about the possibility of AN but decided it was too early to be concerned.  I have been a volunteer firefighter and first responder for years, worked fire rescue at the local racetrack and have been an emergency dispatcher wearing my headset on the right side.  And let's be honest, I'm 44 years old!!! 

I was fitted with a hearing aid in my right ear in mid-august.  It was amazing the amount of things I could hear again.  Then while I was sitting at work on October 31st, my right ear went totally dead.  I really thought my hearing aid died.  I changed the batteries and tried all kinds of things and still couldn't hear.  I called the doctor right away, and he started a prednisone burst.  Within 6 days the hearing had returned to normal.  But he wanted to get the MRI just to eliminate the AN.  Well, that didn't work out very well.  Since my local hospital isn't equipped to deal with these, I was sent 2 hours away to meet with the doctors and surgeons there.  I have a very small AN, and we all agreed that watch and wait was the best course of action.