Author Topic: Cros Hearing Aids  (Read 2840 times)

Goldineye

Cros Hearing Aids
« on: July 03, 2005, 10:44:10 pm »
Hello, I am new to this discussion forum and was just wondering if anyone has the Cros Hearing aids.. I see a lot of you have the Baha but I am too scared to get them. My surgery was so rough I could't think of getting another for the implants.I was left deaf in left ear,The docters severed my facial nerve and don't know how they did it. So I am paralyzed on the left side of face. I needed a seconed surgery to put a 24kt weight  in my eye lid to help it close and my eye had to be stiched closed in the corner for infections. I have been treated by optomologest for many infections so that didn't work too well!And headaches all the time. I have had balance issues and continuee to have them to a certain degree. All I asked the surgeons was to keep my smile and they took that from me. I am going for my 1year MRI an I have so much anxiety . I just want to hear that every thing is great and then I can relax for another year untill the next MRI. Well if any one knows of a place on Long Island New York for the Cros Hearing aids let me know.Sorry to go on and on but I am glad to have found a web site that we can share all . Thanx for listening Goldineye
Lori
3.5cm removed April7,2004
N.Y.U, New York

marie

Re: Cros Hearing Aids
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2005, 04:06:31 pm »
In December, 1967 I had a large left side AN removed.   The 7th nerve was severed:  face paralyzed on left, left eye wouldn't blink or close all the way.   Two months later they did a 7/12 anastomosis (sp?).   I think they probably have made many improvements in this procedure by this time.    Then in summer of 1969 I had a temporalis transplant.  I never see anyone reporting having had this procedure, but it sure worked for me.  It's been all these years and so far, I've had no real problems with my eye.  I  am prudent with my activities --still stay out of the wind or any moving air, etc.