Author Topic: Side Effects From Surgery  (Read 4204 times)

letranger

Side Effects From Surgery
« on: May 20, 2007, 08:15:03 pm »
I am scheduled to have surgery (middle fossa) to remove my acoustic neuroma in July.  I am an attorney and, although I think I have a great surgeon, I'm concerned about how the operation my affect my ability to work.  In particular, I'm very worried about cognitive difficulties that my result from the surgery and about the headaches that others who've had the operation speak about so frequently.  Does anyone have any opinions or advice?  For example, would cognitive difficulties and headaches be less likely using the translabyrinthine approach instead of the middle fossa?  How soon can I expect to be back to work at 100 percent capacity?  Thanks very much for any help you can provide. 

Mark

Re: Side Effects From Surgery
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2007, 10:53:47 pm »
Letranger,

you don't mention the size of your AN , but can I inquire as to why your not also considering radiosurgery which typically has less post treatment deficits than surgery?

Mark
CK for a 2 cm AN with Dr. Chang/ Dr. Gibbs at Stanford
November 2001

letranger

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2007, 11:28:24 pm »
Mark,

Thanks for your response.  As to the size of my AN: from what I'm told, it's still fairly small: 0.6 x 0.9 x 0.5 cm. 

As for why I'm not considering radiosurgery: I discussed the option with my neurotologist.  He explained the procedure to me but ultimately recommended against it.  He said that I'm relatively young (late 30s) and that going the radiosurgery route would mean multiple treatments and continuous monitoring over a period of many years.  He also mentioned the possibility (admittedly remote) that radiosurgery might make the tumor malignant.  I realize that each approach has its supporters and that there is conflicting evidence.  My doctor has an excellent reputation, however, and in the end, his advice seems reasonable to me. 

macintosh