Author Topic: Downhil Skiing?? Anyone done it post-surgery?  (Read 1940 times)

Jeanlea

Downhil Skiing?? Anyone done it post-surgery?
« on: December 20, 2007, 09:16:03 pm »
My family really wants me to go downhill skiing with them...tomorrow!!  I should add that I've never done any downhill skiing, even before my AN surgery.  I have done some cross-country skiing, on level ground since my surgery.  Any advice?

Jean
translab on 3.5+ cm tumor
September 6, 2005
Drs. Friedland and Meyer
Milwaukee, WI
left-side facial paralysis and numbness
TransEar for SSD

Christine

Re: Downhil Skiing?? Anyone done it post-surgery?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2007, 09:38:16 pm »
Nope, wanted to go ice skating but opted out. Last time I went was about 3 years ago way before I even knew about the AN or surgery. Back then I figured I had not been for so long I wanted to go back to skating. I bought some new skates, had them sharpened (bad mistake) and went out on the ice. I took once nice gliding step and flipped up in the air and cracked my head on the ice....was so bad I got a huge goose egg right away and had to go to the hospital. I told my boyfriend that I wanted to give it a try this winter he says that if I skated the same way I did 3 years ago I might pop a screw, or the stuff that I call skull putty might crack and I would be in big trouble....lol

Good luck on the skiing let us know how it goes. :) if it works out for you maybe I will give skating a try again still have those new skates in the attic.
Misdiagnosed in 1997 by my ENT
AN found June 2007

Translab August 14, 2007
Dartmouth-Hitchcock medical Center, Lebanon NH.
Dr. Kadir Erkmen & Dr. Daniel H. Morrison

Inner ear removed on left, small portion of AN remains on Facial nerve. Dissiness, headaches, facial issues, dry eye.

Jill Marie

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2007, 11:37:24 pm »
Hi Jeanlea