Author Topic: Is my condition typical  (Read 2590 times)

kathee

Is my condition typical
« on: September 25, 2008, 09:58:17 pm »
Hi,

I'm new to this.  I was diagnosed 3 years ago with AN and told to do the watch and wait approach.  Had quite a bit of dizziness at first, but still made it to work.  AN stayed the same size.
About 4 months ago, I started having extreme dizzy attacks (spinning), to the point where I sometimes fall down.  I also have ringing in the ear (sometimes extreme), pressure, and hearing loss, which seems worse on some days than others.  The worst part is that I can't think clearly.  I make all kinds of spelling mistakes, forget things, use the wrong words, and can't judge distances etc.  Most days I been using a trekking (walking) stick at work to steady myself.
The strangest part is that sometimes I feel great for a day or two.
I had another MRI and AN has grown about 2mm. 
I'm wondering if anyone else has had these problems, and how they are dealing with them.

Thanks,

Kathee

Cyberknife done in Phoenix, January 2009

sgerrard

Re: Is my condition typical
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2008, 12:36:48 am »
Hi Kathee,

Welcome to the forum. Many of the symptoms you describe are quite common.  Ringing, pressure, and hearing loss are pretty much par for the course. You might want to look at the posts in the new Cognitive/Emotional section, where lots of people are talking about spelling problems, using wrong words, and things like that as well.

The spinning dizzy attacks strong enough to get you falling down are less common, and a significant symptom. That issue, along with signs of growth, could well mean that your watch and wait days are over - or should be.

Others will be along in the morning to fill you in more. Please make yourself at home; you are among friends here.

Steve
8 mm left AN June 2007,  CK at Stanford Sept 2007.
Hearing lasted a while, but left side is deaf now.
Right side is weak too. Life is quiet.

hruss