Author Topic: Ability to sing with hearing in only one ear  (Read 2291 times)

MMR

Ability to sing with hearing in only one ear
« on: January 22, 2006, 09:51:16 pm »
Hi all,

I'm sure glad this forum exists! Since I was diagnosed on December 27 in Chicago with a 2.2 x 1.6 cm AN in my right ear, I've been reading here voraciously.

My surgery is scheduled up at Mayo for Tuesday, Jan 31, with Drs. Link and Driscoll. Retrosigmoid approach. Chance of salvaging hearing in the right ear: 20% to 30%. Chance of no facial nerve damage: 90%.

Are any of you who have hearing loss in one ear also singers? I'm just an amateur singer -- I've performed at a few weddings and now and then I have the honor of chanting Torah at our synagogue -- but singing is important to my creative identity. It would be a cruel loss to not have it anymore. (Of course, whatever the reality is, I will have to adjust to it.)

What has been your experience as a singer? Also, has your speaking voice changed at all -- that you can tell, or that others have mentioned?

Thanks so much for your help,
MMR

(I should add that the symptom that got me to my internist and then to the neurologist was mild balance problems -- like someone else said, it felt like being on a ship. The hearing in my AN ear is less than the good ear but still well in the normal range.)

« Last Edit: January 22, 2006, 10:12:15 pm by MMR »
2.2 x 1.6 cm right-sided AN.
Successful retrosigmoid 1-31-06 at Mayo by Drs. Link and Driscoll. Tumor totally removed.
No facial nerve damage.
Total hearing loss in right ear.
Driving in 3 weeks. Back to work part-time in 4 weeks.

Boppie

Re: Ability to sing with hearing in only one ear
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2006, 11:51:36 pm »