Author Topic: need some advises please  (Read 3685 times)

simo

need some advises please
« on: November 20, 2008, 10:17:08 am »
2 weeks ago ,on 11/07/08 I was diagnosed with AN 17mmx17mm , my doctor send me to Dr wanamaker at syracuse for my first visit . can any body tel me

something about my situation . cause Im really worried . thank you

Tisha

Re: need some advises please
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2008, 12:10:15 pm »
Simo,

I was just diagnosed one month ago, with a 1.7x1.0 cm AN, so I'm a newbie, too.  I would start by reading the first page of the ANA website for information.  Also  www.anworld.com also has a lot of info.

The options are watch and wait, radiation and surgery.  You need to start researching this website and just begin reading all you can.  Your options will depend on several things that your doctor will be able to discuss with you.  Is it touching your brainstem, etc. things like that.

It is very disturbing news, but I've spent hours researching, and you probably will, too.  There is much support on this board, so ask away!

Tisha
1.7 x 1.0 x .9 cm (diagnosed Oct 2008)
1.8 x 1.2 x 1.1 cm  (July 2010-swelling)
1.5 x .9 x .9 cm  (Mar 2013 - 5 yr MRI)
Cyberknife at Stanford, week of 1/12/09 -  Drs. Chang and Soltys

Omaschwannoma

• Life is a journey, not a destination
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2008, 12:12:04 pm »
I would like to encourage you to join the ANA and have a look over all the great information they send to you.  You will find information on vestibular schwannomas, information on treatments (micro surgery, radiation or wait and watch) giving an explanation on why some choose one over the other, also you will  be given information on doctors qualified to treat these rare tumors (very important here) along with a list of members you can talk to on the phone.