Author Topic: Sister's post-op  (Read 2014 times)

Jlynn

Sister's post-op
« on: February 15, 2009, 01:07:14 pm »
Hello....
My sister is almost 5 weeks post-op AN which was almost the size of a tennis ball.  She's recovering very well, but still seems to be unable to pull herself out and begin trying to do some self-help. Meaning doing things such as laundry and dishes.  It seems as though she wants  sleep a lot; and we are having trouble getting her even up to walk through the house or even outside.  Her PT stressed that she needs to do more general household duties.  She agrees but then does not  follow through.  I wonder if this could be a form of depression or fear... I would like to hear from others that this may have affected this way also....Thank you

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Sister's post-op
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2009, 01:35:30 pm »
jlynn -

I'm no doctor, but IMO your sister could very well be dealing with depression.  Fatigue is normal and overwhelming post op and she is certainly experiencing that, but the sooner she gets back to her regular routine, generally the smoother her recovery will be. 

However, before you urge your sister to do more, I'd make sure her doctor is okay with that.  Most docs say that 6 weeks is the "normal" recovery period from AN surgery, but we are all different.  If her doctor hasn't placed any restrictions on her physical activity and agrees with her PT that she needs to do more, you might want to ask about depression.

Jan
Retrosig 5/31/07 Drs. Battista & Kazan (Hinsdale, Illinois)
Left AN 3.0 cm (1.5 cm @ diagnosis 6 wks prior) SSD. BAHA implant 3/4/08 (Dr. Battista) Divino 6/4/08  BP100 4/2010 BAHA 5 8/2015

I don't actually "make" trouble..just kind of attract it, fine tune it, and apply it in new and exciting ways

Jlynn

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2009, 01:56:23 pm »