Author Topic: 5 months after radiation  (Read 4142 times)

sarahinPA

5 months after radiation
« on: May 22, 2009, 11:18:25 pm »
Hello,
My name is Sarah I am 24 years old and was diagnosed with acoustic neuroma 3 days before christmas 2007. My tumor was 2.2 cm, and i recieved Gamma Knife treatment in mid January by Dr. Douglas Kondziolka at UPMC in Pittsburgh. I am new to the AN website and wish to be more involved. My only symptom was facial numbness which i let go for nearly 6 months before mentioning it to my doctor. I have so many question regarding insurance, post treatment, and long term effects of the radiation treatment.

I have waited to join this forum because i have been scared of what i might read or hear. I thought i could get through this on my own by getting the treatment and having my tumor just go away...i was wrong and i need support from those who have experienced this too. I live outside of Pittsburgh and would like to go to support groups, but cant make it there often enough.

my family supports me, but i feel they have put my medical condition aside and they feel i am better now, but dont understand the emotional burden it has caused me. i worry everyday that my treatment hasnt worked and am becoming overwhelmed with the worry. I recieve my 6 month MRI July 1st and it feels like an enternity away.

i just need to know that there are other people out there that are scared too, i need to know that i am not the only one who worries about this. I want people to know this exists so that they arnt afraid to tell their doctor too.

thank you for reading and listening..

sarah
2.3cm Diagnosed 12/19/08
Gamma Knife @ UPMC Pittsburgh 1/12/09
.2mm Regrowth 6/2011
Translab 7/29/11 @ UPMC
     temporary paralysis of throat-feeding tube 8 days; SSD; facial numbness; blood clot & pnemonia developed; 11 days hospital stay.

Tumbleweed

Re: 5 months after radiation
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2009, 01:53:18 am »