Author Topic: Newbie 6 weeks Post-op  (Read 6034 times)

Wenport

Newbie 6 weeks Post-op
« on: August 09, 2009, 05:37:07 pm »
Hello Everyone,

I have been so grateful for this website, it has helped me through some very difficult times.  I have decided it is now time to post my own story and get some personal advice from all you.

I am a very active mother of 2 (3 year old Audrey, 1 year old Claire)  and part-time ER nurse.  I had started having severe headaches and had two episodes of vertigo.  I decided I had better get it checked out.  Never in a million years did I think I would get the dreaded phone call from my family doctor saying, we need you to come in ASAP regarding your MRI results.  As a nurse I knew that it was not going to be good news. 

The month following my diagnosis was very difficult and stressful for me and my family, but with everyones support I have made it through the past 6 weeks.  I had a couple complications post-op.  My hospital stay was extended by a few days because of an abdominal hemorrhage (the ICU nurse did not put my drain to suction) and a viral infection that caused facial paralysis which has improved.  I continue to experience headaches and balance issues which is a problem with two very active children.  I have been so blessed with wonderful support from family and friends.  My Mom moved in with us 7 weeks ago ( I don't know what I would do without her) My husband has been my rock, and has helped get me through some pretty difficult days.  I have two sisters that have jumped in and took over the "mother" role on those days I could not even get out of bed.