Author Topic: Newbie here  (Read 3378 times)

PatsFan

Newbie here
« on: November 19, 2009, 03:26:05 pm »
I have been reading this board for sometime now as my brother 56 years old learned this summer he had an acoustic neuroma.   He is less than 24 hours out of surgery as of right now.  He was in surgery for almost nine hours yesterday.  He was operated on at Mass General with Drs. Barker and McKenna and he is doing wonderful.  As of right now they are all amazed how great everything went.  He may even go home tomorrow or on Saturday, I guess there is a shortage of beds.  They said they removed all the tumor. Of course, he is deaf on the one side.  Anyway, we are all so thankful and I just wanted to acknowledge the wonderful doctors.

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 03:32:40 pm »
Hi, Patsfan ~

Welcome - and thanks for joining us.  I'm glad to learn that your brother is apparently doing well following his AN removal surgery.  We would appreciate learning more about your brother's AN, i.e. size and type of surgery he had.  I know that Mass General has a good reputation and Dr. McKenna and Dr. Barker are fairly well known on these forums.  Many of our members have had these surgeons perform their AN removals.  They both have solid reputations with AN patients in the northeast/New England area.  Your brother was in good hands.

Jim

4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

Pooter

• The Official Breeze Conjurer - PBW
    • Blog Website
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2009, 03:34:30 pm »