Author Topic: Another Newbie here  (Read 6399 times)

char1957

Another Newbie here
« on: January 26, 2010, 05:50:00 pm »
Was diagnosed with acoustic neuroma on the day of my MRI on Dec 10. (mass in the internal auditory canal on the right which extends centrally into the cerebellopontine angel.  It measures 1.5 cm in the cerebellopontine angle and measures 2.1 in coronal dimension.) Contacted Shands and radiosurgery with Dr. William Friedman was scheduled on Jan 4 and 5.  Had a new MRI and met with Dr Friedman and his team on the 4Th.  He told me I was not a candidate for Radiosurgery and that he thought it would make me worse.  (I have been having symptoms for 3 years and all the doctors I have seen have put me on antidepressants.) Dr. Friedman graciously referred me to Dr. Stephen Lewis who was able to see me the next morning.  I am scheduled for surgery on February 8Th, and today is one of my scary days.  I try very hard to take it "one day at a time", but some days like today, I am terrified. 

Anyone out there know of Dr. Lewis?  I believe he is doing the retrosigmoid approach.  My hearing is annoying, my face is a mess, my balance is "not so pretty" and my memory is scary!  Am I doing the right thing here?  Any advise at all would be greatly appreciated. 

Hope I am posting in the correct place??
Char
2.5 AN right side, diagnosed 12/12/09
Retrosigmoid Surgery 2/8/10
Encompassed 4th-8th Cranial Nerves
Lost hearing and balance w/other deficits
3rd year MRI no regrowth on AN, but found 10mm Menengioma right frontal lobe

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Another Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2010, 06:00:04 pm »
Welcome, Char  ;D

The category you posted in is just fine.

I'm curious as to why you were told radiation wouldn't be an option for you.  The size of your AN is within the limits that are generally set for radiation.  Is the location of your AN the issue?