Author Topic: article on celebrity with AN  (Read 5654 times)

bethnyny

article on celebrity with AN
« on: April 22, 2010, 06:17:39 am »
Hi, everyone!  This is my first time posting here, although I've been reading along since I was diagnosed in November 2008.

Thought you all might be interested in an upcoming article in Harper's Bazaar on Tara Subkoff, a designer and actress who recently had surgery at House for an acoustic neuroma:

http://www.harpersbazaar.com/magazine/feature-articles/tara-subkoff-brain-tumor-0510

Hope you all have a good day!

Beth
watch & wait since 11-4-08

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: article on celebrity with AN
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 06:42:46 am »
Beth -

I've never heard of Tara Subkoff, but this is a great article.  Very positive.

Hopefully articles like this will educate the general public on just what an Acoustic Neuroma is and shed some light on what AN patients go through.

Thanks for posting the link,

Jan
Retrosig 5/31/07 Drs. Battista & Kazan (Hinsdale, Illinois)
Left AN 3.0 cm (1.5 cm @ diagnosis 6 wks prior) SSD. BAHA implant 3/4/08 (Dr. Battista) Divino 6/4/08  BP100 4/2010 BAHA 5 8/2015

I don't actually "make" trouble..just kind of attract it, fine tune it, and apply it in new and exciting ways

Patti

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2010, 07:03:00 am »
i loved her article!  thanks for posting.  patti
4 cm AN removed 12/2000
subsequent brain swelling
removal of part of cerebellum
face, scalp,tongue numbness and partial paralysis
no corneal sensation and no tears-frequent eye issues
cognitive issues
Regrowth (3.1 x ..86 cm) treated by SRS on November 6, 2015

jerseygirl

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2010, 07:26:43 am »
I also loved the article. It is so positive without false bravado or sugar coating. The recovery really is difficult.

Eve
Right side AN (6x3x3 cm) removed in 1988 by Drs. Benjamin & Cohen at NYU (16 hrs); nerves involved III - XII.