Author Topic: coughing  (Read 2757 times)

joycebaskin

coughing
« on: July 16, 2010, 08:35:25 pm »
I wanted ro know if anyone has experienced alot of coughing after surgery  I have been complaining to docs. for 3 yrs. now and they say nothing    I was able to rellieve some of it with cough syrup but it is getting worst and this is not helping I cough so hard that I gag and my head hurts and i can't see straight just wondering if anyone else has any in put into this problem 

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: coughing
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2010, 12:39:10 pm »
Joyce ~

I'm not aware of post-op AN patients experiencing coughing incidents on a regular basis, as you do.  However, I'm not a doctor so I can only speculate that your cough is not directly related to the AN but perhaps some other medical issue, i.e. lung-related.  You may want to consider consulting a different PCP (Primary Care Physician) for an examination, focusing on the cause of your coughing.  It's obvious that your current physicians aren't interested in pursuing this with you.  It may not be important but a persistent cough (for 3 years) doesn't seem like something that is normal.  Please have it checked out and let us know the result.  Thanks.

Jim

4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

Tod

• My blog (work and life)
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2010, 03:58:08 pm »
Joyce, I cough every day. Often quite badly. However, I have a paralyzed vocal cord. If you don't suffer from the same, it seems very unusual from what I have read, so I would follow Jim's good advice.

-Tod
Bob the tumor: 4.4cm x 3.9cm x 4.1 cm.
Trans-Lab and Retro-sigmoid at MCV on 2/12/2010.

Removed 90-95% in a 32 hour surgery. Two weeks in ICU.  SSD Left.