Author Topic: CSF LEAK  (Read 3300 times)

SamaraHasbrouck

CSF LEAK
« on: August 11, 2010, 09:40:11 pm »
Hello everyone ;D I am a new member and this is my first post. I had my AN surgery on July 23, 2010. I had a successful removal of the entire 1.4 cm tumor and no damage to my facial nerve. That was my major concern. However, the same day I was discharged from the hospital, I noticed a clear fluid leaking from my right nostril. Being a nurse, I recognized right away what this was. I hoped it would stop by my 2 week follow up with my surgeon, but it did not. This all occurred this past Monday. I am scheduled for a second surgery to fix the leak this coming Tuesday, August 17th. I was so upset and discouraged. I did allot of internet research regarding CSF leaks, and I found the most accurate and helpful information right here in this forum. I have read everyones stories about their experience, and it has helped to set me more at ease. There is so much wonderful information and inspiration in the stories you all share here. I wanted to say "thanks" to all of you, and I will continue to be an active part of this forum from this point forward. This is the perfect time for any of you to share some more stories  and words of wisdom! Thanks again to you all!
« Last Edit: August 11, 2010, 09:45:28 pm by SamaraHasbrouck »

staypoz

Re: CSF LEAK
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2010, 01:46:53 pm »
I developed a CSF leak a couple of days post-op and the surgery was a breeze compared to the original surgery.  I'm sorry you have to go back to have the leak repaired and I hope your experience will be as uneventful as mine was.  Good luck to you and keep us posted! 

staypoz

iluuvpups

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2010, 02:10:18 pm »
Good luck on your CSF leak surgery!
Original 1.75cm left-side AN diagnosed Feb 2010
Translab surgery May 27, 2010 with Drs. Kartush and Pieper of MEI
SSD on left side, some facial weakness, tear duct doesn't work