Author Topic: Novalis Vs GK  (Read 3038 times)

dyslexus

Novalis Vs GK
« on: August 30, 2010, 09:23:05 am »
I have been seen at the House clinic and at UCLA.  UCLA is recommending the NOvalis system with fractionated radiation, 25 treatments.  They say this has a greater chance of retaining my current hearing.  Dr. Brackman at the House clinic has told me this has not been proven to be as effective at Gamma knife.  But it is new so it is hard to compare.  Has anyone had this treatment or knows anything more about it?

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Novalis Vs GK
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2010, 01:52:46 pm »
Dyslexus ~

Hi, and welcome to the AN discussion forums! 

I'm not a doctor, much less, an expert on AN radiation protocols but I can offer you my experience with Novaliis.  In May, 2006, I was diagnosed with a 4.5 cm AN, pressing hard on my brainstem.  I was suffering from rapidly increasing symptoms (loss of equilibrium and sense of taste, severe fatigue).  My neurosurgeon performed a partial resection ('debulking') of the tumor, reducing it to approximately 2.5 cm and, essentially, 'gutting it' into a thin membrane that would be amenable to radiation.  The operation was completely successful and I suffered no real complications.  My neurosurgeon - very experienced with acoustic neuromas - teamed with a brilliant young radiation oncologist and, using 'fresh' CT and MRI scans of my skull, they jointly 'programmed' the FSR procedure.  The FSR was performed at the cancer treatment center adjacent to the hospital where I underwent my surgery, 3 months earlier.  Seeing and talking with folks being treated for very serious cancers every day helped me put my situation into the proper perspective.   I had a total of 26 separate treatments (receiving a total of approximately 27 gy) .  While the FSR procedure was a bit uncomfortable, (you wear a tight-fitting plastic 'mask' and are strapped down to a metal table that is moved by remot