Author Topic: facial paralysis/eye blinking  (Read 2664 times)

jbenn

facial paralysis/eye blinking
« on: September 10, 2010, 10:04:37 am »
Hi.  I'm a scared newbie...  Does anyone not get facial weakness and normal eye closing?  I'm looking at JHU for occipital/retrosig?  Please comment!!

Cheryl R

Re: facial paralysis/eye blinking
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2010, 11:24:19 am »
Janice, There are many do  not have any facial paralysis or eye issues.      One can  possibly have a bit of of dry eye for a short time even if the eye closes fine and one just uses lubrication till it gets over it.      If any one has any kind of eye issue then one uses the heavier gels for care and not the everyday tears most people use for just occ dryness.                  The tumor location is a big part of how the facial nerve has been affected.    Also size for most but not all people.    A bigger tumor that one has had for a longer time can have done damage to the nerve.     Most who do have some facial problems recover from it also but time can vary with how long it takes.   Nerve healing is slow and the muscles are different than regular muscles so will not be damaged.       One just ahs to let it heal and not do anything to it.                         I know this too well as have NF2 so been thru 3 tumors and surgery on both sides.     One side did have facial paralysis and recovered but later had a facial neuroma on that side too and surgery with a nerve graft at the same time and partial recovery.        The surgery on the other side had no facial paralysis at all.