Author Topic: Newbie here  (Read 7875 times)

tbaxter1

Newbie here
« on: September 23, 2011, 01:40:21 pm »
hi. my name is tracy and im having brain surgery oct.18th.I'm scared 2 death.how much pain am i going 2 be in afterward?how long will it take 2 recover?How bad is it really?
please be honest!

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2011, 03:01:00 pm »
Hi, Tracy ~

Your fears are natural - this is a complicated surgery - but thousands have gone through it and most do O.K. 

I'll try to answer your questions;  Post-surgical pain usually isn't too bad.  A headache is very common but that usually passes.  Nausea (from the anesthetic)  is also common, but not everyone experiences that.  I didn't.  I found that the large head-bandage was quite uncomfortable (hot!) but the doctor removed it within 72 hours, post-op.  The hospital stay, barring any complications, is usually five days, although a few AN patients that post here were released sooner (2 - 3 days) but I would figure on a 5-day hospital stay. Your total recovery should be around six weeks but, again, some AN surgery patients are recovered sooner and some need much longer. Total recovery can take months but that doesn't mean that you can't return to a job or resume your normal activities, just that you may not feel quite like 'yourself' for some time, even though you'll be 'officially' recovered.  Fatigue is generally a long-lasting reminder of AN surgery but even that improves over time. 

In brief, AN surgery is a bit daunting but not 'the end of the world'.  Try not to allow your fear to control you and know that many, many people have gone through what you're going through and come out just fine.  I did.  We'll be here to support you, Tracy, and I hope you'll be a frequent visitor to these forms where the folks who post understand what you're going through right now as your surgery date approaches.

Jim