Author Topic: Body Temperature Question  (Read 3516 times)

CupcakeQueen83

Body Temperature Question
« on: November 02, 2012, 08:06:44 pm »
My husband is 3 weeks post-op on his acoustic neuroma, and we've noticed an odd quirk.  While it's been a lovely day here in Texas, a temperature of about 85 degrees, Stuart has been wearing flannel pj pants and a hoodie, and has been BEGGING me to turn off the AC (thermostat in the house reads 75).  He's been freezing at night, and will wake up covered in sweat.  Has anyone else experience an odd temperature gauge after surgery?  Is this some strange side-effect of the healing his body is doing?
Wife of AN patient
Diagnosis 10/6/12 - 3.5cm
Translab Surgery 10/9/12

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Body Temperature Question
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2012, 12:07:15 pm »
Hi ~

I'm not a doctor but my guess is that the effects of the surgery - a trauma to the body - are causing his system to work 'overtime' to heal and that is reducing his body's ability to maintain it's normal temperature.  This should be temporary.  I recall being more sensitive to cold immediately following my surgery asking for extra blankets while in the hospital).  However, if this condition persists or becomes worse, I strongly suggest contacting your husband's doctor to alert him/her of the situation and to seek advice on a remedy.

Jim 
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

PaulW

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2012, 03:56:32 pm »
Feeling cold can be a sign that your husband has a fever.
If your husband has a fever he probably has an infection.
Meninigitis is a common and serious complication from AN surgery.
If he has a fever, you need to seek medical attention quickly.

10x5x5mm AN