Author Topic: Radiation shrinking patterns  (Read 4897 times)

SV2011

Radiation shrinking patterns
« on: April 30, 2013, 06:32:08 am »
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting ;D. I am 37 years old, i had radiostatic radiosurgery Dec 2011 on my AN. For the first 2 months I had some bad bouts of dizzy spells but battled them through and carried on. Since then i've had bad tinnitus some facial sensitivity, fuzzy head but no balance issues as bad as the first 2 months. I had an MRI scan done feb 2012 (1 yr on) and the tumour was still inflamed. We  decided to wait and see when I reach 18 months. I haven't  had any steroids to alleviate my symptoms and when I mentioned this to my consultant he asked me to get in touch next time I had an episode. I had a real fuzzy head this weekend, and have contacted him, and now he has prescribed me a short course of steroids. I feel much better now and my symptoms have gone.. I am wandering wether to start the steroids or not. I've managed so far without them, however if they will help stop the tumour from remaining inflamed I will happily take them. Hs anyone else had this experience?

arizonajack

• Arizona - It's a Dry Heat
Re: Radiation shrinking patterns
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 02:01:04 pm »
What I learned from my doctors and from my research is that you can expect swelling of the tumor for 1 - 2 years post radiation while the tumor is dying. However, it's not inflammation and I haven't read anything that would indicate that steroids would have any affect on the normal swelling of the tumor although steroids might help with the symptoms. Make sure you ask your doctor if that's the case.

The following set of images shows you the progress of a tumor over a 36 month period after radiation treatment.

http://ars.els-cdn.com/content/image/1-s2.0-S0360301612004336-gr3.jpg

The dark spot in the tumor shows where the cels are dead or dying and no longer absorb the contrast.