Author Topic: Surgery in 10 days- can you share post op experiences  (Read 4783 times)

markandrew67

Surgery in 10 days- can you share post op experiences
« on: February 08, 2016, 10:15:12 pm »
Hello friends,

I was diagnosed on Jan 5 with AN, 2.7cm., two days before my 49th bday.  I had sudden hearing loss on Dec 7 the month before (the unfortunate part, I am a musician, relying on my hearing in a very involved way to lead choirs, compose, perform on organ, piano, etc) and had an MRI jan 4.

After speaking with Dr Jed Kwartler (in NJ summit medical group very reputable) who gave the original diagnosis and surgery options (translab is what he suggested) I went to see a few more docs. Spoke with Samuel Selesnick and Phil Gutin at Sloane Kettering, but decided on the neurosurgeon James Liu (and Bob Jyoung, neuro otologist) at University hospital in newark, part of University of New jersey's medical school. Although he's on the younger side (in his early 40's) i'm very impressed with Dr Liu's reputation and achievements with ANs. He performed 30+ retrosigmoid approach surgeries last year and since I have serviceable hearing in the AN ear (i can use a phone) he's giving me maybe 50% chance of preserving the hearing I have. I know it's difficult to give percentages and hearing preservation is a very tricky business..but I'm definitely going for it because the translab of course is 0% hearing preservation.