Author Topic: New diagnosis, trying to decide and have some questions  (Read 877 times)

Colin

New diagnosis, trying to decide and have some questions
« on: August 09, 2024, 11:40:14 am »
Hi all,

Short background -
38M, 1.5cm tumor on the right side near the brain stem, have good hearing in both ears, recommended retrosigmoid by Dr. Friedman at UCSD. Seeking second opinions. I am in good shape and exercise regularly and eat a very clean diet. I work in the audio industry, designing speakers and audio systems and good hearing is an asset, though lately I have been in management roles and can delegate my listening tasks to others (I know I can learn to hear what's important with one ear).

Longer background -
In May I suddenly lost most of my hearing after a hard workout while recovering from a long cold. It felt like it was blocked with fluid in the middle ear, but not quite. Throughout the day it resolved. However, the next day I was listening to music and realized that all of my low frequencies were gone in the right ear. The next morning I went to urgent care, was diagnosed with SSNHL, sent to ENT and audiology and prescribed a course of prednisone. Over the next two days the hearing loss was pretty much total, and the tinnitus overwhelming.

After a week of prednisone I started having sensation in the ear again and almost fully recovered my hearing. Audiology confirmed - about 5-15dB loss compared to left ear. I really only notice the difference in noisy environments where I need to bias towards my left ear to aid in understanding.

I insisted on MRI just to close out the remote possibility of AN.

July 6 MRI w/wo contrast
July 8 - MRI report says findings consistent with AN, 9-15mm in size.