Author Topic: Bi-cross hearing aid and other solutions for one-sided hearing loss?  (Read 575 times)

davidm2015

Hi!

BACKGROUND: I had suboccipital / retrosigmoid approach for removal of a medium size AN in 1996. I had a good outcome overall. Only persistent adverse effects were (a) unilateral hearing loss, (b) some balance deficit, and (c) tinnitus.

COPING: I adapted to the one-sided hearing loss by just compensating for it in life's various situations (meetings, conversations, group settings, etc.). I maintained suitable balance by continually challenging my brain's balance detection systems through various exercises and lots of hiking and walking. The tinnitus -- which was at times quite loud -- was addressed by habituation training; though the tinnitus is continuous, I don't notice it unless I'm putting my attention on it, as I am at the moment <g>!

CAREER: After the AN surgery in 1996, life went on. I completed my master's degree (linguistics) and Ph.D. (education) in the following years and continued to work in my career in higher education as an instructor and administrator for another 25 years or so until I "retired."

QUESTION FOR TODAY: With age, my non-AN ear's hearing has gradually declined. So I'm thinking of hearing aid. The bi-cross is one solution. It would not provide "directional location" but would remove the "sound shadow" on the AN-side (my right). However, I've been advised that the bi-cross solution doesn't work for everyone. Some people find it doesn't help much or at all. Some find it actually bothersome. That seems to be the case especially for people, like me, who have long adapted to one-sided hearing loss. Naturally, I don't want to pay for two hearing aids if one will do. So ... does anyone have experience in this area or tips or advice they could share?

With appreciation in advance -- David

UkulelesAreAwesome

Re: Bi-cross hearing aid and other solutions for one-sided hearing loss?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2024, 06:57:26 pm »